

Club of The Classic City of Athens

May 1, 2023: JJ Harris Essay Contest Winners



J.J. HARRIS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

Want to connect to the meeting via Zoom?

To join the meeting with one-click, <u>CLICK HERE</u>. Meeting ID: 848 1309 0687 Passcode: Classic

One tap mobile +13126266799,,84813090687#,,,, *4448338# US (Chicago) +16469313860,,84813090687#,,,, *4448338# US

Meeting Roundup:

Meeting Date	Greeter	Pledge	4-WayTest
May 1	Dan Everett	CJ Johnson	Marissa Chastain
May 8	Candace Crew	Rick Leffel	Milton Masciadri
May 15	Cindy Darden	Pam Shropshire	Tammy Dalton
May 22	Melissa Ellard	Mary Lillie Watson	Emily Escoe
May 29 (No Mtg)			
June 5	Beverly Harper	Dick Field	Allen Green
June 12	Kemp Gaskill	Robert Hardell	Al Hawley
June 19	Jeff Auerbach	CJ Johnson	Bowen Craig
June 26	Anjela Filipova	Rick Leffel	Leigha Streetman

Vic Chesnutt Songwriter of the Year Awards

Birthdays

No Birthdays Found

Club Leaders



<u>Michelle Elizabeth</u> <u>Roberts</u> President Club Director



Jeffrey Auerbach President-Elect Club Director



Jordan Bowen Club Director President-Nominee



Tammy Tate Gilland On-To Conference Chair Club Director Secretary



Christine S. Waite-Morgan Club Director Treasurer



<u>Emily K. Escoe</u> Membership Chair



<u>Beverly Harper</u> Club Director Membership Chair



Lawrence W Harris Membership Retention Chair



Marissa Leigh Chastain Club Director Public Image Chair



This year, we received a record number of 110 nominations! This number reflects 68 distinct artists with 83 different songs! Paul Matthews is busing preparing submissions to send to our stellar panel of Judges: Cassie Chantel (Athens hip hop artist and 2021 winner!), Caroline Herring (Atlanta-based singer-songwriter), Boo Ray (Nashville-based alt country troubadour), Robert Schneider (experimental musician and Elephant 6 producer), and Greg Suran (lead guitarist for the B-52s and American Idol house band).

Our featured performer this year will be Caroline Herring. She will perform for 45 minutes between 7:00 and 8:00 p.m. prior to the Awards show. Caroline Herring is an American folk singer, songwriter, and musician. She won Best New Artist at the *Austin Music Awards* in 2002, and has been making music ever since. Caroline has appeared on *All Things Considered Weekend* and *A Prairie Home Companion*, and has played many festivals nationally and internationally, including Newport Folk Festival, Austin City Limits Music Festival and Merlefest. Caroline has lived in Atlanta for 20 years and is a regular at Eddie's Attic in Decatur. She is best known for her historical story songs and has recorded eight albums. Caroline will participate in the *Black Legacy Project* in Atlanta in April, and was recently asked by WABE in Atlanta to write and record a song for season four of the *Buried Truths* podcast. As a graduate student in Southern Studies at the University of Mississippi, Caroline co-founded *Thacker Mountain Radio*, a live-audience radio show. It continues today as a weekly broadcast on both Mississippi and Alabama Public Radio.

Classic City Rotary Takes District Conference

Classic City Rotary members and friends are enjoying their time at the Rotary District 6910 Conference in Chattanooga!

Gerry Taylor was recognized as a level three annual fund donor and Classic City Rotary was recognized in the top three rotary clubs for annual giving. Paul Matthews was recognized as a past recipient of the Distinguished Service Award and the Meritorious Service Award. Ellen Bryson was recognized as a new member of the Bequest Society. Heather McElroy, Deanne Rosso and Friend of Rotary Lisa Taylor were recognized as PHS Members since 2021-2022!



Tammy Dalton Family of Rotary



Richard J. Leffel Training Officer



<u>Deanne Rosso</u> Club Director Rotary Foundation Chair



Pamela Shropshire Family of Rotary



Marilyn Appleby Club Director Club Service Chair



<u>Ellen Bryson</u> Club Director Club Fundraising Chair



Blair Dorminey Club Director iPast President



<u>Becky Engel</u> CCO-Club Comm. Offcr



Robert A. Hawley Sergeant-at-Arms



Paul H. Matthews Club Admin Chair Club Director



James J. Milner Past President Club Director Club Programs Chair





District 6910

District 6910

District 6910





Mary Lillie Watson Club Director Club Programs Chair



Heather J. McElroy **Club Fundraising** Chair



Roy M. Legette International Service Chair



Milton Masciadri International Service Chair

Image preview

-

